The Albums That Changed My Life!

Scouting for Girls – Scouting for Girls

scouting_for_girls

This was the first album released by Scouting for Girls released way back in 2007. Scouting for Girls were the first ever band that I started to take an interest in. I must have been 9 or 10 at the time the album was released and was probably the first ever album I had bought. I remember showing my friend at the time this album and we both were in love with the band from such a young age. There was this one track on the album called ‘I Wish I Was James Bond’ and we were absolutely crazy for this song that when we went to a school disco I remember us requesting it and the DJ not having a clue who Scouting for Girls were or the song was so we just went around signing the song instead (evidently the DJ did not have a good taste in music).

Looking at the track list of this album my favourite had to be ‘Heartbeat’ I loved the whole start to the song with a literal heartbeat trailed by the catchy lyrics and chorus to follow. Whilst listening to the song as a 9-year-old the lyric “Always up for a laugh, she’s a pain in the arse” would always stick in my head as I viewed it as funny which I guess made me like this song furthermore.

There are many other great tracks on this album including ‘Elvis Ain’t Dead’ and ‘She’s so Lovely’ which may be more familiar to others who have heard about the band. The reason this album has ‘changed my life’ is because this is the first album I officially bought and would listen to repeatedly. I think this album opened my eyes to the whole concept of having a favourite band having a deep love for music and finding more artists and bands to listen and connect to.

 

(What’s The Story) Morning Glory – Oasis

oasis_-_whats_the_story_morning_glory_album_cover

Not only are Oasis one of the most iconic bands in the world. But they have probably produced one of the most successful albums of the 1990’s. This album sold a record-breaking 347,000 copies in its first week of sale and was number one for a length of 10 weeks in the UK. Since release it has sold over 22 million copies. Obviously, I was not around when the album was released but does that matter? NO WHO CARES? If you haven’t heard Oasis where have you been? What are you doing? I don’t recall the first time I had heard Oasis but I have always loved how they shaped rock and roll and how they have become British icons.

This album is on my list of albums that have changed my life because it is just so iconic you cannot skip the go to karaoke and song along songs on this album: Wonderwall, Don’t look back in anger, some might say. These tracks are huge and so they should be!

 

Life Thru a Lens – Robbie Williams

life-thru-a-lens

I remember this album being the first album I listened to. I recall my dad giving me a bundle of his CD’s to listen to and this being the first one I picked up. It looked appealing compared to the others he had handed to me. (Yes, they say don’t judge a book by its cover, this also applies to album covers, however I was young but now I know better). I don’t think I even got through the stack he gave me. When I listened to music I didnt have an IPod or phone or even a set of headphones to listen to, I only had the family HIFi system. It was this large black box (probably the same size as a bedside cabinet) in a storage unit and along with it came two large speakers placed on either side of the room. The system had far too many dials and buttons, it played cassettes, CDs and the radio and the sound quality was amazing.

I listened to this album non-stop, recited the lyrics of ‘Angels’ to everyone I knew (basically only my family). To this day, it is still one of my favourite songs. I must admit I hadn’t listened to the whole album track by track in forever but, I as I write this I am listening back and it feels very nostalgic however, listening with a set of headphone is nowhere near the same quality as the sound on that HIFi System.

What are albums have changed or shaped you life? Be sure to leave a comment and come say ‘hey!’.

Just a heads up, as many of my posts have been specifically about music, I’ll probably continue writing about that because it’s something I’m really passionate about. I was once told to “write about what you love” which is what I will continue doing and hopefully you’ll enjoy it. However, if something else pops up in my head I’ll write about that.

Leave a Reply

