The (Uninteresting) Tale Of The Student & Her Ever-Dwindling Energy

Once upon a time there lived a girl with a busy mind.  She wanted to do everything, see everything, think everything, know everything.  Her mind was almost never quiet; even sleeping it was working, working, working away, to the point that she managed to wear away some of her tooth enamel.

You might be thinking this sounds very tiring.  You would be right.  Stress is exhausting.  And many people have so much stress and anxiety built up for a variety of reasons.

Maybe you should be writing.  Or maybe sorting out your clothes, your life or even your room. Commitments that can be pushed aside, left for later.  When you’re feeling like your entire life revolves around graded assessments, it’s very hard to spend any remaining energy on anything “productive”.

I’ve fallen into that trap way too many times.  Life is stressful.  It’s hard, and unforgiving, and that’s just the way it is.  It’s way too easy to procrastinate and postpone.  Somehow it becomes so much easier the more you do it.

It’s okay.  You can forgive yourself.  You’re not always going to be able to do everything you want to or are even expected to, and that’s perfectly, 100%, absolutely okay.  Trying your best and not quite managing isn’t a bad thing.

In the same vein, it is important to not leave things piling up.  I think that’s possibly my worst trait.  I’m the worst for leaving things to the last minute or just not doing it at all.  You might have noticed by the two-month silence on this blog.  I have so many draft posts on here.  My goal is to somehow get them all posted weekly.

This is, I guess, in part a New Year’s resolution.  Hogmanay is tomorrow; let’s hope the fresh start lets us put this awful year behind us.  I’m going to try my best not to allow myself to put things off so much.  Yeah, this is an invitation to yell at me on various social media until I actually follow my posting schedule.

Have any New Year’s resolutions?  Comment below and tell us!

Leave a Reply

